top of page
Search
Writer's picturePaige

using text

I have created the piece “Yellow Combat Boots” loosely inspired by my research into Laura Owens work. I recycled one of my earliest digital pieces and incorporated a handwritten quote from 10 Things I Hate About You (1999).



The movie has been a favourite of mine since I can remember, and I felt that the earlier digital piece might benefit from more layers being added. I’m torn whether to add more to it, or leave it as is.



I also explored the use of text in a different piece I’ve done. “Golden Honey” includes extracts from a Winnie The Pooh book (Good As Gold) I grew up reading. Unlike “Yellow Combat Boots” none of the piece was digital. I painted onto an A4 piece of paper, and wrote out the quotes onto acetate, before layering the acetate over the painting. I tried to write in a way that might resemble my writing when I was younger.


I actually quite like both pieces, they’re both quite minimal. I also like the colour palettes in each of them. I feel that the text in "Yellow Combat Boots" is less legible, which I'm not sure if this makes it more of less cohesive with the other layers. I also included a much bigger quote, maybe less words would help the layers interact with one another.

Recent Posts

See All

Fangirling

As part of the MA, I am undertaking an Art History module. Within the module I am trying to find artists that are relevant to the theme...

Comments


bottom of page