top of page
Search
Writer's picturePaige

Fangirling

As part of the MA, I am undertaking an Art History module. Within the module I am trying to find artists that are relevant to the theme of Creativity/Technology. While I have been trying to find relevant examples and research for this, I stumbled across Fiona Rae and Laura Owens.


Fiona Rae has a huge portfolio, and she has covered so many mediums and styles. I particularly like her 2017-2018 series Pastel. There’s a playfulness evoked in her pieces that I would love to be able to achieve within my own.


Laura Owens also has an impressive portfolio; she appears to use screen printing in a lot of her works. I’m still unsure on the exact processes she uses, but I love the effect she has where it looks as though the layers have been erased in areas to reveal what is underneath. She is able to achieve depth to her work, while also keeping it playful and fun.


I think both will help me to continue with this project, while offering me new things to try or consider.

Comments


bottom of page