top of page
Search
Writer's picturePaige

Roaring 20's

I have begun to look at 1920’s and 1930’s abstract art. I find it to have recurring aesthetics that I really like. Mostly the use of 2D shape.


Ben Nicholson’s work stands out to me. I like his colour choices, especially in June 1937 (painting) (1937).


I was so inspired by the piece I decided to have a go at replicating something similar immediately. I like what I did but I can tell it is far from refined. I have encountered issues to do with the transparency of the paint, and the paint itself bleeding out from under the tape I was using. The lines are nowhere near as straight and clean as I want, and the paper has torn in areas due to the masking tape. I think better materials could help. In terms of composition and colour palette I think the piece was beneficial, and I’m excited to see what it leads me to try.


I think I mentioned in a previous post, I feel that there is a recent resurgence in vintage colours and patterns. Perhaps this is what pushed me to look at older artworks.

Recent Posts

See All

Fangirling

As part of the MA, I am undertaking an Art History module. Within the module I am trying to find artists that are relevant to the theme...

Comentários


bottom of page