top of page
Search
Writer's picturePaige

Pop Art

I have been researching a lot into Pop Art. I have been incredibly inspired by Patrick Caulfield’s work – I love his colour choices. His work feels like it is more of a gesture than a replica of the subject, which is something I would love to accomplish. I feel his work also sets a good precedent at how to convert our surroundings into an abstraction. For me this is challenging as I often get caught up on details, but I like the opportunity this will give me, to let go and have fun.


Another artist I have been looking at is Derrick Greaves. I particularly like his piece Abstract Painting with Fruit (1979) – the warm colours are beautiful, and I love the bold clean lines that he has achieved through screenprinting. I find the neatness to the piece so aesthetically pleasing.


I adore Edward Ruscha’s work for the same reasons. His piece HONK (1962) reminded me that I did not need to paint something but rather I could paint anything.


I’m hoping that taking on these challenges, and painting in a new way will help me to further explore myself as an artist, and encourage me to paint for the sake of painting.

Recent Posts

See All

Fangirling

As part of the MA, I am undertaking an Art History module. Within the module I am trying to find artists that are relevant to the theme...

Comments


bottom of page