top of page
Search
Writer's picturePaige

Inspired by collage

I have been looking a lot at David Salle’s work. I wanted to find more artists that use or reference, prints, documents, photos. I love his approach to collage, it is very playful. It made me think of how I could possibly explore different mediums in my work. I have started to list different things I am interested in, that I could possibly make a piece out of.


Seeing David Salle’s work reminded me of some of the artists I had researched during my A-Levels. I have revisited Linder (Sterling) and Erin Case; while the two are more considered photographers, due to their portfolio’s, it has made me think even more about possible directions for the MA.


I had a go at creating my own collage. I have taken various components that were significant during my childhood. The Tiger Lily is a reference to Peter Pan, some fine liner drawings of a Top Cat comic strip, and I recreated the Bratz logo.


I had fun creating this piece, it felt like I was making a scrapbook of some of my favourite memories, it was almost an ode to my childhood. I could definitely do more with the piece, but I think for now it stands as a good reminder of the possibilities within this project.


Recent Posts

See All

Fangirling

As part of the MA, I am undertaking an Art History module. Within the module I am trying to find artists that are relevant to the theme...

Comments


bottom of page