top of page
Search
Writer's picturePaige

Hoarding opportunities

I have been able to make so many digital pieces over the last week or so. Each piece has taken a fraction of the time that a painting would. However, I miss the visible texture that a natural brush stroke would create. My aim is to find a way to exploit the efficiency of digital while keeping the integrity of a physical painting in some way.


I have been looking at Jasper John’s work also, as I like the way he uses different materials as canvases for his paintings. This got me to think about things I own that could make for interesting surfaces to paint on to. I remembered I had a stack of Beano, Mandy, Disney and other old 60’s-70’s comics, that I had retrieved from my Nana’s loft during a massive clear out following my Grandads passing back in 2015. He was a serious hoarder, amongst some of the lovely stuff we found up there we also managed to bring down 6 vacuums and a full set of dining chairs – I won’t go into all the curtains we found!


While I want to use these as an underlying surface, I am aware that by doing so I will quickly use up the resources I have. The papers are old, and besides that, are paper, so it will not be easy to scrape off paint and tape off sections. I will need to find an innovative way to use these without ruining them.

Recent Posts

See All

Fangirling

As part of the MA, I am undertaking an Art History module. Within the module I am trying to find artists that are relevant to the theme...

Comments


bottom of page