top of page
Search
Writer's picturePaige

Fresh Start fever

At the beginning of the summer, I graduated from Aberystwyth University with a BA in Fine Art. I had already applied to continue my studies with an MA in Fine Art. It had already been a shaky year by this point, but I knew I was not ready to leave Aberystwyth yet, and I wanted to take the opportunity to continue my studies.


My undergrad degree work consisted of a portfolio of realism still life paintings, with the subject matter being cupcakes. While I had thoroughly enjoyed my previous work, I knew that it was time for something new.


During the summer I did a lot of artist research in attempt to figure out where I wanted to go with the MA. I felt inspired to try painting abstract, though I knew this would come with a new set of challenges. The work that stood out to me as most interesting, were ones that included bold, flat colour choices and typically clean lines or shapes. I like the retro aesthetic that we are starting to see revived in many illustrations and home décor.


In my first tutorial of the semester, I discussed this want to try new things, and to

give abstraction a go. My tutor recommended I find a way to bridge the gap between

realism and abstraction. I began with taking

studies of sections of my room, such as the

doors hanging on the back of my door.


Overall I liked the studies, but I knew it wasn’t quite what I was after.

Recent Posts

See All

Fangirling

As part of the MA, I am undertaking an Art History module. Within the module I am trying to find artists that are relevant to the theme...

Comentarios


bottom of page